Dholera Land Rules
Edition 2026-08-04 · dholera-estate.com

The 8 schemes

The eight town planning schemes

A town planning scheme is the government order that redraws every plot boundary in one part of Dholera at the same time. There are eight of them on record. Here is what each one covers, and how much of each one is actually documented.

PageScheme register
Records8
Six schemes total422.42 sq km
Last verified2026-08-04
In plain words

Dholera is not being developed plot by plot. It is being reorganised in large blocks, and each block is a town planning scheme. Inside a scheme, every owner's field is redrawn at once, a share of the land is kept for roads and public use, and each owner is handed back a smaller regular plot.

Eight of these blocks are on record. Six are numbered 1 to 6 and appear in the 2012 Development Plan. Two more, marked 2/A and 4/A, exist as their own signed drawings and nothing we hold explains how they relate to schemes 2 and 4.

The honest headline is that the record is patchy. Only three of the eight have an actual scheme document behind them. Only two have a signed government order. The other four are a row on a table with an area against them, and this page shows exactly that rather than dressing it up.

01

All eight, side by side

The eight scheme records Source: tp-schemes.json. Areas from the TP TABLE inset, Figure 10-2, dp_report1.pdf p.183, header reads approximate. Names, stages and village lists from the scheme sheets. Orders from the Apex Authority gazette pages.
No.Name on the sheetStageArea, sq kmPart villagesGovernment orderPhase
1DRAFT TOWN PLANNING SCHEME - 1draft51.40Ambli, Kadipur, Bhadiyad, GoglaSIRAA/03/2012/566-A3 October 2012not stated
2no titled document suppliedno stage stated102.34no list suppliednone suppliedPhase 1
2/APRELIMINARY TOWN PLANNING SCHEME 2/A (DHOLERA - MUNDI - RAHTALAV - BHIMTALAV)preliminaryno row in the TP tableDholera, Mundi, Rahtalav, Bhimtalavnone suppliednot stated
3DRAFT TOWN PLANNING SCHEME - 3sanctioned draft66.60Sodhi, Sangasar, Otariya, Cher, Panchi, Sandhida, Mundi, DholeraSIRAA/06/2013/43924 October 2013not stated
4no titled document suppliedno stage stated60.00no list suppliednone suppliedPhase 2
4/APRELIMINARY TOWN PLANNING SCHEME 4/A (DHOLERA-MUNDI)preliminaryno row in the TP tableDholera, Mundinone suppliednot stated
5no titled document suppliedno stage stated74.75no list suppliednone suppliedPhase 3
6no titled document suppliedno stage stated67.33no list suppliednone suppliedPhase 3

Read the stage column first. Draft means proposed. Preliminary means sanctioned and in force, so plot boundaries under it can be acted on. Development plan allocation means the scheme exists as a line on the 2012 plan and nothing more has been supplied to us.

Every value above is tagged OFFICIAL, which on this site means it is stated in a government document rather than reported by anyone. Areas are dated 10 September 2012, when the Development Plan came into force.

02

Which schemes were meant to come first

The Development Plan puts the schemes into phases, meaning the order in which the government intended to take them up. A phase is an intention stated in 2012. It is not a completion date and nothing in our documents reports whether the order was kept.

Development Plan phasing of the town planning schemesEach phase is drawn as a bracket containing the schemes the Development Plan places in it, with the planning area of each.PHASE 1SCHEME 2102.34 SQ KMPHASE 2SCHEME 460.00 SQ KMPHASE 3SCHEME 574.75 SQ KMSCHEME 667.33 SQ KM
The plan names schemes in pairs when it describes a phase. Only the scheme that actually carries the phase field in the data is drawn on its bracket. The partner scheme mentioned in the same sentence is quoted below instead of drawn, because the record attaches the field to one scheme only. Source dp_report1.pdf p.185.

Word for word: Phase 1: Phase 1: In Town Planning Scheme 1 (~ 52 sq km) & 2 (~102 sqkm); Phase 2: Phase 2: In Town Planning Scheme 3 (~ 67 sq km) & 4 (~60 sqkm); Phase 3: Phase 3: In Town Planning Scheme 5 (~ 75 sq km) & 6 (~67 sqkm); Phase 3: Phase 3: In Town Planning Scheme 5 (~ 75 sq km) & 6 (~67 sqkm). Source dp_report1.pdf p.185. OFFICIAL

03

How big each scheme is

Six of the eight schemes have an area printed against them. Those six add up to 422.42 sq km, while the region as a whole is 879.3377 sq km. So the schemes on record cover well under half the region, and 456.9177 sq km of it is not inside any documented scheme at all.

The six schemes with an area, largest first Source: areas and restatements from dp_report1.pdf pp.183 and 185. Share and rank are arithmetic done by this site, not quoted figures.
SchemeArea, sq kmShare of the six, %RankWritten in the text as
Scheme 2102.3424.21~102 sqkm
Scheme 574.7517.72~ 75 sq km
Scheme 667.3315.93~67 sqkm
Scheme 366.6015.84~ 67 sq km
Scheme 460.0014.25~60 sqkm
Scheme 151.4012.26~ 52 sq km

Schemes 2/A and 4/A have no area anywhere. The plan's table has rows for schemes 1 to 6 only, and neither of the two extra sheets states an area on its face, so those cells stay empty. Why the totals disagree, and what that does and does not mean, is worked through on the arithmetic page.

04

What this register cannot tell you

This is the part a seller will not volunteer, so it is set out plainly here.

  • For schemes 2, 4, 5 and 6 we hold no scheme document and no government order at all. They exist here as a number and an area, nothing more.
  • For those same four schemes there is no list of which villages they take land from. If your village is not shown against a scheme, that does not mean it is outside one.
  • The gazette page for scheme 1 breaks off mid sentence, at the words Apex Authority (GIDB) hereby. Because the sentence never finishes, this site does not claim scheme 1 was sanctioned.
  • No plot count, no list of final plots, no boundary coordinates and no F Form could be read from any file we hold. The scheme drawings themselves carry a printed warning that they must not be used for measurements.
  • Whether any scheme has since become a final scheme cannot be told from documents dated 2012 and 2013. Check the current position with the authority before acting on anything here.

The full list of what is missing, across both datasets, is on the method page. What is printed on the drawings themselves is on the scheme drawing page.